Monthly Archives

October 2010

ACO World Championships Crowns Its Official Beer

By | ACO News (from the ACO)

Ladies and Gentlemen. The King of Beers is now being served.

Hedinger Beverage Distributing out of Jasper, IN will be distributing Budweiser and Bud Light as the official beer for the ACO World Championships V. The ACO World Championships V is the premiere cornhole event of the year celebrating the end of the 2010 cornhole season. Join the fun held at the Horseshoe Casino & Hotel in Indiana this February 3rd-6th, 2011.

Reserve your room today. Call 866-766-2671; use Discount Code S02ACOW. $90.00 per night. Limited rooms. Advanced booking required.

ACO World Championships in Indiana

By | ACO News (from the ACO)

Another Cornhole season is fast approaching its climax at the ACO World Championships of Cornhole V. Held in Las Vegas, NV the last three years, the ACO World Championships of Cornhole heads back to its midwestern roots and will be held at the Horseshoe Casino in Southern Indiana on February 3rd-6th, 2011.

“We’re thrilled to have the Horseshoe Casino & Hotel in Southern Indiana hosting the ACO World Championships this February 2011,” said Frank Geers, ACO President.

Born in Cincinnati, the sport of cornhole is reaching new heights and drawing crowds and competitors from across the country. ACO World Championships of Cornhole features six championship titles for recreational, women’s and collegiate competitions, as well as the King of Cornhole, the feature event crowning the world champion of cornhole.

“The event isn’t just about professional cornhole,” said Geers. “There will be plenty of tournaments promoting the Social/Recreational side of cornhole, such as the King of Sling, Campus Champ and the SuperHole.”

Spectators can watch up to 350 of the top cornhole professionals in the country, as ranked by the American Cornhole Organization (ACO), battle it out Thursday, Friday and Saturday in the King of Cornhole.

Alexandria, KY native Matt Guy has won the King of Cornhole four consecutive years.

“It’s hard to bet against Matt,” said Geers. “He is the greatest player the game has had, but the competition is as fierce as we’ve ever seen in professional cornhole.”

Many of the best cornhole players are from Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana, but more than half of the competitive field will come from outside the tri-state region. The ACO World Championships already include players from Texas, West Virginia, Virginia, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Michigan, Illinois, Iowa and the list gets stronger daily. Kevin Warner (Indianapolis, IN), Dave Sutton (Chicago, IL), Matt Strzala (Cleveland, OH), Steve Vanderver (Cincinnati, OH), Cody Johnson (Tampa Bay, FL), and Jason Schwab (South Carolina) are just a few of the established professional cornhole players who have elevated their performances in their chase for the crown.

The ACO has added a new championship event featured at the ACO World Championships of Cornhole. For the first time in ACO history, the Women’s World Champion will be crowned Queen of Cornhole on Saturday, February 5, 2011.

“The game of cornhole is meant to be played by everyone,” said Geers. “The ACO World Championships of Cornhole gives all skill levels a chance to compete and have fun.”

Download PDF